Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric has this evening been named as the most up-to-date winner of the Ballon D’Or.

Ronaldo & Messi dominate

The Ballon D’Or, awarded by France Football, marks the most prestigious prize in world football.

The award is handed out based on the calendar year up to December, and is supposed to reward the standout player throughout the world for the earlier 11 months.

The Ballon D’Or has been certainly dominated by former Clasico rivals Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo every single year considering the fact that 2008, with the latter owning taken home 4 of the final 5 accolades.

Modric topped

Nevertheless, as was announced a short time back, the stranglehold of Messi and Ronaldo on the Ballon D’Or has formally been damaged.

The 2018 version of the award has been handed to Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric.

Veteran midfielder Modric has loved a breathtaking year to day.

The 33-year-old performed an integral role in Real Madrid’s Champions League triumph, before also heading on to delight in one of the best World Cup strategies in latest record.

The former Tottenham man led by example for Zlatko Dalić’s Croatia in Russia, constantly dominating proceedings in the center of the park to aid his state to the World Cup Finals.

Nevertheless Croatia eventually fell to a 4-2 defeat to France in the competition’s showpiece, Modric however picked up the Golden Ball as the ideal player at the World Cup, a just reward for his other-worldly endeavours.

As these kinds of, with a Champions League crown, World Cup runners-up medal and the Golden Ball below his belt around the final 12 months, all through which time Modric proven himself in the eyes of most as the unquestioned best midfielder on the world, number of will argue against the point that the Real Madrid man is absolutely deserving of his place in the record publications as the most up-to-date winner of the Ballon D’Or.

Ronaldo runner-up, Messi in 5th

In the meantime, finishing as runner-up to Modric on the podium was former Blancos’ teammate Cristiano Ronaldo.

Entire world Cup winner Antoine Griezmann rounds out the award’s top rated 3, with French teammate Kylian Mbappe in 4th.

five-time winner Lionel Messi, in the meantime, has to make do with 5th location on the Ballon D’Or listing.

And the remainder of the top rated 10 is as follows:

six. Mohamed Salah

seven. Raphael Varane

8. Eden Hazard

9. Kevin De Bruyne

ten. Harry Kane

Football Scores Live