Zambian FA boss happy with CAF Award nominees

Phumzile Ngcatshe

Wednesday Nov 29, 2017. 16:30

The Football Association of Zambia president Andrew Kamanga has sent a message of best wishes to the country’s CAF Award nominees.

Kamanga has congratulated the U20 national team and referee Janny Sikazwe for being shortlisted for the 2017 CAF Awards.

The Junior Chipolopolo has been shortlisted for the National Team of the Year Award, while Zambian International striker Patson Daka has been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year Award.

Sikazwe has got the nod for the Referee of the Year Award and Kamanga has congratulated all the nominees.


“On behalf of the FAZ executive and the rest of the football family, I would like to convey our great pleasure on your selection for the 2017 CAF Awards,” said Kamanga.

“It is a great honour for Zambia to see our ambassadors competing among the best on the African continent.

“The selection of our envoys on the various categories of the 2017 CAF Awards epitomizes the rise of our game in the last year.

“Your selection for the various CAF Awards doesn’t surprise us at is proof enough of the level of success you have attained in a calendar year.

“FAZ is further invigorated by the bar you have set for the current and future ambassadors of the Zambian game – I would like to wish you the very best of luck.”

Source link


Ballon d’Or: Sadio Mane included in 30 nominees – 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers – Africa

Liverpool forward Sadio Mane

Graeme Jackson

Tuesday Oct 10, 2017. 11:00

The 30-man shortlist for the 2017 Ballon d’Or includes the name of Liverpool and Senegal attacker Sadio Mane.

The Teranga Lions player is one of two Africans on the list, the other being Borussia Dortmund and Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Mane enjoyed a great debut season for Liverpool in 2016/17 and has been even more impressive thus far in the 2017/18 season, forming a deadly attacking triumvirate with Egyptian Mohamed Salah and Brazilian Roberto Firmino.

He has also helped Senegal reach a position of strength in their 2018 World Cup qualifying group.

The award, formerly known as the World Player of the Year, has been passed between Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in the past 10 years and is likely to be handed one of the two again in 2017.

Ballon d’Or Nominees, 2017:

Neymar Jr. (PSG), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Marcelo (Real Madrid), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Kevin de Bruyne (Man City), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), David de Gea (Man United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Edin Dzeko (AS Roma), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Radamel Falcao (Monaco), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Edinson Cavani (PSG), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan), Isco (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Source link