by Bertin Basson Saturday Sep 30, 2017. 22:17 Thamsanqa Gabuza was at the double as Orlando Pirates and Polokwane City played to a 2-2 draw in an Absa Premiership fixture at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday evening. The burly forward with a 92nd minute equaliser to deny Rise and Shine all three points, after 

Continue Reading

When the final whistle blew on Borussia Dortmund’s victory in Augsburg on Saturday afternoon, there were no wild celebrations from the visitors – as there have been following their other Bundesliga victories this season. Instead, the overriding feeling was of relief. “We’re all happy to have taken all three points,” said Gonzalo Castro after Dortmund’s 

Continue Reading

Freiburg are still chasing their first win of the Bundesliga season as they welcome high-flying Hoffenheim to the Schwarzwald-Stadion on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 13:30CEST/11:30GMT). If Christian Streich sticks with his tried-and-tested 4-4-2, winger Yoric Ravet could slot into the attack after returning from suspension, while Lukas Kübler is a more defensive alternative to Pascal Stenzel 

Continue Reading

Cologne are still chasing their first win of the Bundesliga season as last season’s runners-up, RB Leipzig, visit the RheinEnergieStadion on Sunday (kick-off: 18:00CEST/16:00GMT). Cologne coach Peter Stöger is likely to shore up his defence against a Leipzig side who are notoriously rapid on the counter-attack, and may opt to start with a five-man backline. 

Continue Reading